Spin’s a Game

So Tuesday this week, I went to Flyweel for the third of my spin classes through Class Pass.

I can’t tell you how much I loved it.

It has the dark, in your own space, club fun feel of Soul Cycle, the positive vibes of YAS, and the tough instructor like Cycle House. She talked exactly the right amount, her music was ON POINT (at one point she played the theme to “Greatest American Hero” and then a mashup of “Happy”, “Talk Dirty” and “Turn Down for What”).

A new thing for me was the electronic bike. She would shout out numbers and when you turned up the resistance it had a number value. It also showed you the RPM’s as well. So she would say “I want you between 30 to 33 resistance at a speed of 55-60”. And I knew exactly want to do. It was great. I had goals and numbers and it was like playing a video game in a way. So much so that at the end of class they post power rankings. You have to be a member of their website to have them posted and you can opt out (which I think I would) but it was nice to see that judging by what my bike said versus others on the board, I did okay. I mean, there is DEFINITELY room for improvement. But I really walked out of there feeling good. The bonus of being registered online is going back and looking at all your past performances so you can see how you did.

Oh, and the shoe rental is free.

Leave a comment